Rock and River

At last a chance to try out my new 10-stop neutral-density filter, which allowed me to make a 30-second exposure even though it was only late afternoon.  I like the way it turns the river into a watercolor-like wash of colors.  If I’d used a longer exposure the water would have been even silkier, but the camera annoyingly goes only up to 30 seconds.  Since it probably has more processing power than the entire Apollo moon rocket, it seems pretty lame that it can’t count any longer than that.  I do have an electronic cable release that allows much longer exposures, but I couldn’t be bothered to get it out.  I was happy enough with this version.  Interestingly, the underwater rocks are more visible here than they are in person, presumably because the waves get “averaged out” over time.

 

Leave a Reply

