Pinwheel

Another outing with Sherrie and our little photo group, this time to Lake View Cemetery, an old, prestigious Seattle cemetery that holds our famous pioneer families. And also Bruce Lee and his son, who were visited by an unending stream of people. Several graves had these colorful pinwheels. This one especially caught my eye whenever a breeze got it spinning.  I liked the contrast of the cheerfulness of the pinwheel amid the overall solemnity.

I’m experimenting here with Perfect Layers, which attempts to provide the joy of multiple layers without having to spring for Photoshop. I blended three layers to make this image: a color and a black-and-white version of a picture in which the pinwheel was spinning, and also another color picture in which it was mostly still. I made the color layers partly transparent so you can see a little of the black-and-white layer through them, which gives a hand-tinted look.

One response

  1. Sherrie

    Looks pretty good Franz! I like the final result. Perhaps sometime you and I can get together and you can show me some of your tricks. I’d LOVE to know them. 🙂

    September 2, 2011 at 3:49 am

Leave a Reply

