Not Actually Dudley

If you read the fine print, you’ll see this is actually Lizzie J. Perkins, though I guess she was considered to be of the house of Dudley. I suspect her not taking her husband’s name was a bit scandalous in the late 19th century. Perhaps this grave marker is a bit of posthumous payback. Regardless, I like the way it looks. Maybe because the stone is pale, the accumulated grime accentuates the surface shaping. The marker is small, but it’s got presence.

 

 

2 responses

  1. Chris Alkire

    It would be interesting to know the real story regarding this stone. Regardless, I did find the lighting and shapes interesting in the photo.

    September 7, 2011 at 6:33 am

    • Yeah, that interesting look is why I photographed it. (Though I did process the image to enhance the contrast between the stone and the ones behind it.) I noticed the mismatch in the names only when I was writing this blog post.

      September 7, 2011 at 4:08 pm

Leave a Reply

