Playing with Tumbleweeds

Another image from the Channeled Scablands. It can be windy there, which is how I presume this huge pile of tumbleweeds formed. I like how the only difference between the cliffs and the tumbleweeds is texture. In reality, the cliffs were orange-ish and the tumbleweeds were tan and grey.  Here’s a different processing of the same photo, this time maximizing the color difference.

It is also not strictly accurate: I took almost all the color out of the tumbleweeds and boosted it a little in the cliff.

 

 

2 responses

  1. Chris

    That’s a pile of tumbleweeds?? Do you have a photo from further out?

    i like the straight black and white. I’m thinking it would make a nice large print.

    It’s not fair, but I always cringe at partial B&W partial color photos. I’ve seen way to many sappy implementations…

    September 20, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    • I’m afraid I don’t have a photo from further out, but it would just show the edges of the pile. I saw other, similar piles in the area. Few to no growing tumbleweeds, however, despite it’s being spring. Do they grow later? Did they all roll in from elsewhere? Dunno.

      I feel your cringe. Half-color-half-B&W can easily be cheesy, and perhaps my version is, too, but it was fun to do.

      September 27, 2011 at 12:51 am

Leave a Reply

