EMP Dumpsters

Next to the Space Needle is the Experience Music Project, a truly odd building that houses Paul Allen’s collection of rock and roll memorabilia and, now, various other things. Not everyone in Seattle is in love with it, though people are pretty much used to it by now. It is compelling to photograph, though I get a nagging feeling that I’m just doing what the architect wants me to do, shooting the views he set up for us to admire. I doubt he had these dumpsters in mind, though, so I felt like I’d found something mildly original and unsanctioned.

8 responses

  1. Deborah Gohrke

    Really like this!

    December 22, 2011 at 5:36 am

  2. Love the dumpsters! You got lucky they were that nice blue – I bet green dumpsters would not have looked so striking!

    December 22, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    • Agree. It’s hard to think of another color that would work as well as this blue. Worst, I suppose, would be multiple colors.

      December 22, 2011 at 10:06 pm

  3. petercombe

    l really think this photo is excellent. Partly because I am a sucker for blue and partly for my love of the Experience Music Project, but mostly because of the composition and juxtaposition. I have written a post on my blog about an international art project that has received some awesome submissions and some not so awesome. I think your photo needs to be part of the project to help bring it back to a project of quality. You can find out more about it at http://petercombe.wordpress.com/2011/12/22/the-most-expensive-picture/

    December 22, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    • Goodness, I’m flattered. The project looks interesting, but a $95 buy-in is enough to make me have to think about it for a bit. (It’s nice to see that #94 is refreshingly non-commercial. #93 is a bit scary.)

      December 23, 2011 at 12:21 am

  4. Pingback: Is This a Calendar Shot? « Franz Amador's Photoblog

  5. Pingback: Experience Music Project « Franz Amador's Photoblog

Leave a Reply

