Sycamore in Streetlight

I took this photo last week of a sycamore two blocks from my house. It’s a big tree, grown around a telephone pole with a streetlight. Two years ago the city took a big chunk out of its upper branches to make room for the wires. I have photographed it several times over the last couple of years, always at night, attracting the attention of the neighbors. I act friendly and show them the display on the back of the camera, and they decide I’m harmless if a little eccentric.

So, to continue the theme of my last two posts, does this show the influence of Eliot Porter? There are similarities – natural subject, visual complexity – but I’d like to think there’s something of my own here, too. To me, this image is less soothing and harmonious and more energetic and discordant. I find it exciting. I think it’d look particularly cool blown up big.

4 responses

  1. Deborah Gohrke

    I agree with your instincts about it looking particularly cool blown up big…think large scale would be even more interesting.

    January 9, 2012 at 4:35 am

  2. I see lots of energy in this also. Just going everywhere. Really nice. And I adore Sycamores. Bad city for chopping it up.

    January 9, 2012 at 4:45 am

    • Yeah, I was disappointed when they did it. I’d been thinking of photographing the tree but hadn’t gotten around to it when bam, there was a big bite out of it. It looks a bit odd from some angles now.

      January 9, 2012 at 6:11 am

  3. Pingback: Sycamore, Streetlight, and Snow « Franz Amador's Photoblog

Leave a Reply

