Experiments with a Fish Tank

Long ago, we drove past a free, ten-gallon fish tank sitting by a curb, along with some hamster paraphernalia. The hamster stuff didn’t prove useful, but I had a lot of fun with the fish tank. I filled it with water and dried leaves and photographed them. I left it sitting out on the deck until the water got cloudy. Eventually I stuck a dried hydrangea blossom into the murky water and put a desk lamp next to the tank. This is my favorite of the resulting images, taken with an old Mamiya twin-lens reflex. I’ve had a silver print of it on the wall for years.

For this post, I scanned the negative, did a bunch of spot removal, tweaked the contrast, and bam! So much easier than the old days. Though it does mean I’m still sitting here on the computer after working all day on this same computer.

One response

  1. This reminds me of those Chinese tea flowers that start off as a hard ball of tea and then blossom in the hot water.
    I guess keeping guinepigs in the fish tank just didn’t work out so well for the original owner…

    January 20, 2012 at 6:07 am

Leave a Reply

