Fellow Travelers

I really like this image. For me, it has a feeling that I’ve long sought. It’s hard to put into words, but it’s something like nature, left to its own devices, quietly coping with our effects on the landscape. Dignity, persistence, a little sadness.

I made it shortly before this, on the abandoned highway ramp. I had messed around with it in Lightroom 3, but it didn’t float my boat. Since then I’ve upgraded to Lightroom 4 and, as I often do, I hit the auto-tone button just to see what would happen. To my surprise, it dramatically darkened the image, something I doubt I would have tried. I liked the effect and used it as the basis for further tweaking. Lightroom 3’s auto-tone frequently makes odd decisions, but they seem to have improved it in Lightroom 4.

5 responses

  1. Deborah Gohrke

    I REALLY like this image, too. I don’t think I would ever get tired of looking at it. Nice work. Again, thank you for sharing your work. There is nothing you have ever posted I didn’t like, but some strike me more deeply than other. This is one.

    March 22, 2012 at 6:24 am

    • Thanks, Deborah. I’ll be thrilled if I can find some more that have the presence of this one.

      March 22, 2012 at 7:20 pm

  2. Pingback: Thicket « Franz Amador's Photoblog

  3. Pingback: Wildness « Franz Amador's Photoblog

  4. Pingback: End of the Road « Franz Amador's Photoblog

Leave a Reply

