100th Post: The Wildness Project Thus Far

In honor of the 100th post on this blog (wonder if WordPress will have an extra special attaboy), here’s an attempt at putting my favorite “wildness” photos into a coherent set. Most of these have appeared before in this blog, but there are a few new ones. I was inspired to do this while messing around with the new book module in Lightroom 4, which lets you lay out a Blurb book. In addition to choosing the photos and arranging them in a sequence, I enjoyed matching them in pairs that would appear on facing pages (the first photo is alone because it would face the back of the cover). It took a little messing around with the WordPress HTML, but I’ve more or less replicated that look here. I hope you enjoy it. (You can click the photos to see them a little bigger.)

I’d also love feedback. Are there any photos that don’t belong together or shouldn’t be here at all? How about the overall sequence? Does the shift from natural scenes to more human-influenced ones work, or is it too much of a downer?

4 responses

  1. Nope, no special attaboy from WordPress. A little disappointing, actually.

    August 2, 2012 at 4:52 am

  2. Love it! I laughed at the end. It’s true – when we are gone, the ivy and blackberry will take over so fast, it will be like we were never here.

    I think WordPress should send you a little notification when it’s your blogiversary, too. Congrats on your 100th, that’s a big milestone!

    August 2, 2012 at 6:46 pm

  3. Chris

    It seems to me like the with/without human influence belong in different books. Conceptually, I guess they aren’t that different, since the “wilderness” shot are of anything but pristine wilderness.

    I guess i would alternate them if you are going to put them together.

    I think my favorite is the car parked in the overgrown garage.

    August 3, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    • Yeah, I’ve been wondering if this isn’t really two separate projects. I did think about alternating them, and I should try that to see how it works. Doing so implies that I want the viewer to compare/contrast them, but I don’t know that that’s what I want to say.

      August 3, 2012 at 6:07 pm

Leave a Reply

