Transmission Tower and Hills

Oops, I meant to schedule some auto-posts while I was out of town, but I forgot. Well, I’m back, and here is another of my favorite electrical tower shots from Stampede Pass. This area, which I think of as part of “greater Snoqualmie Pass”, is a great example of the so-called industrial West. Not so long ago it was beautiful, wild, and remote. Now it’s strewn with logging roads, clearcuts, power lines, ski areas, reservoirs, railroad tracks, and Interstate 90. And despite all that, it is still beautiful.

2 responses

  1. In my opinion, it is really difficult to make a photograph of something so man-mad and ugly look interesting. However, you completely nailed it here. I really like the black and white use in this photography, and your composition is great. Thanks for sharing,

    Nate

    October 18, 2012 at 2:43 am

    • Thanks, Nate, I appreciate that. As I’ve mentioned before, I find them cool looking, but it’s hard to convey that in a photo. I think the weird landscape helps, and I totally agree about the black and white. I was really surprised by how much better many of the photos from that day look in black and white.

      October 18, 2012 at 3:38 am

Leave a Reply

