Duck Island

20121125-IMG_6032

This is partly Lightroom’s idea. When I go to adjust a photo, I often click Lightroom’s Auto button to see what it thinks the photo should look like. Frequently the results are horrible, but sometimes they’re a great starting point for further exploration, taking me in a direction I might not have thought of otherwise. Such is the case here. The original is much lighter than this, less contrasty, perhaps a bit bland. Lightroom punted me toward this dramatic, moody version, which I tweaked further (can’t let Lightroom take all the credit) into something I think is pretty cool. (By the way, the smooth water is from a 30-second exposure, courtesy of a 10-stop neutral(ish) density filter.)

Oh, right, almost forgot. Duck Island is a tiny island just offshore in Seattle’s Green Lake Park. This photo is from near the walking/jogging/cycling/rollerblading/etc path around the lake, which was as usual packed with people. You’d never guess that, would you?

4 responses

  1. Linda Loft

      Very nice! Such a different perspective on somewhere I’ve seen a gazillion times. Thanks!

    >________________________________ > From: Franz Amador’s Photoblog >To: lindaloft@yahoo.com >Sent: Sunday, December 16, 2012 8:34 PM >Subject: [New post] Duck Island > > WordPress.com >Franz Amador posted: ” This is partly Lightroom’s idea. When I go to adjust a photo, I often click Lightroom’s Auto button to see what it thinks the photo should look like. Frequently the results are horrible, but sometimes they’re a great starting point for further explora” >

    December 18, 2012 at 2:24 am

  2. Chris

    Glad to see you are getting some miles out of that filter. Do you know, is there some intrinsic reason they can’t make our sensor act less sensitive? I can do ISO 6400 down to ISO 100, why not ISO 50 or ISO 5?

    December 18, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    • It must not be easy, because my Canon G1X has a built-in 3-stop ND. If they could just dial down the sensor, you’d think they would, rather than build in a mechanical mechanism (I can hear the filter click into place when I select the option in the menu).

      The filter I haven’t gotten much use out of is the polarizer, though maybe that’s because I live in Seattle. (I know, it can take glare off surfaces even on cloudy days. I really should try that more.)

      December 18, 2012 at 5:42 pm

Leave a Reply

