Blackberry Canes

20130106-IMG_6156

I recently made a print of my old tray of dried leaves photo for a friend, and I liked so much how it came out (after a lot of fiddling) that I was inspired to go back and try some more plant still-lifes. I found these Himalayan Blackberry canes (a particularly persistent Seattle invasive) in some big piles of weeds in a nearby park renovation project. These are actually lying on a piece of black velvet on the ground between two of the piles. The lighting is typical Seattle heavy overcast. I like this, but I wonder if it wouldn’t look even better with a little directionality to the light. (I painted out a lot of spots on the velvet, which is why it looks so perfectly black here.)

5 responses

  1. Deborah Gohrke

    Really pleasing. I could look at this a long long time and never get tired of it. 🙂

    January 7, 2013 at 4:16 am

    • Thanks, Deborah. It’s nice to see you’re still checking my blog.

      January 8, 2013 at 12:28 am

  2. Chris

    Yikes. I need leather gloves just to look at this picture. Did you chop them to length yourself, or were they conveniently pre-sliced?

    January 7, 2013 at 11:31 pm

    • I chopped ’em. Took a while to drag enough out of the brush piles (taller than me) that had good-looking straight sections. I kept expecting someone to show up and yell at me, but I put everything back nice and neat.

      January 8, 2013 at 12:31 am

    • And, yes, I was using leather gloves.

      January 8, 2013 at 12:31 am

Leave a Reply

