Cornfield Fence Tensioners

20121012-IMG_1371

From a family trip to western Maryland. I tried to go for a walk in the beautiful countryside, but the road had no sidewalk and little shoulder, and everything else was behind fences and No Trespassing signs. It’s all private land so that shouldn’t be surprising, but I did find it ironic that it’s easier to take a walk in the city than in the country. I saw many of these ratchet wire tensioners and toyed with making them (especially their toothiness) a symbol of the access restrictions. I don’t know that I succeeded in that, but I like the picture.

2 responses

  1. Wonderfully abstract. Crisp. Awesome framing here.

    January 10, 2013 at 7:08 am

    • Thank you, Mitchell. I hadn’t thought of it as abstract, but I do see the crispness. I like how the monochrome conversion makes the corn leaves look almost metallic. As for the framing, this is a pretty severe crop from the original. I wish I’d thought of this framing when I made the capture, as I’d have a lot more pixels to work with now.

      January 14, 2013 at 3:55 am

Leave a Reply

