Not Quite Spring in the North Cascades

20130317-IMG_2322

Another from our hike along the Sauk River on St. Patrick’s Day. The weather’s getting nicer now, but it could certainly still snow in the Cascades again before summer.

Technical note: did you know that last Sunday (March 31) was World Backup Day 2013? I certainly didn’t. In belated honor of this illustrious occasion, I thought I’d describe my backup strategy, which I’m proud of because it’s much simpler than anything I’ve read about online. I have a matched set of three 1TB drives, one of them internal and the other two external and very portable. I keep all my photos and my Lightroom catalog on the internal drive, and after each Lightroom session, I back up the changes to one of the portable drives. Now and then I take the portable drive to work and swap it with the other one, which I keep there.

The details: the internal drive is a Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200RPM, and the portable drives are Transcend Information 1TB USB 3.0 External (TS1TSJ25M3), which claim to meet “military drop standards” and required a USB 3.0 card for my older computer. The backup software is FreeFileSync, which is simple, fast, and free. (I used to use Windows backup but found it much too slow.)

Leave a Reply

