Portrait of the Photographer in a Bubble

20130526-IMG_7026

(In several bubbles, actually.) This is the best of 93 hand-held macro shots of the surface of the flooded part of Yesler Swamp. I was feeling inspired by Sally Mann’s old large-format and ultra-large-format Polaroids of watery abstracts (you can see a few on Aperture’s web page for her book Still Time — click the right arrow once below the sample thumbnails), so I wanted very shallow depth of field. I didn’t have a monster Polaroid camera handy, so I approximated by using a macro lens wide open and close up. Everything on the water’s surface was drifting, and my hands aren’t perfectly steady, so getting the focus to be somewhere acceptable was mostly luck. Of course I didn’t end up with anything much like Sally’s photos, but then I didn’t really expect to.

Leave a Reply

