High-Speed Stump

20130601-IMG_7214

I had a chance to drop by the Elwha River again and check up on the stumps on the exposed bottom of the no-longer Lake Aldwell. The winter storms have come and gone since they removed the dam, but things don’t look all that different from last September. The river channel has probably shifted a bit between the benches of sediment, and the stump in the photo has surely moved. The loggers didn’t cut it at that angle. I’m surprised that it still has a sediment cap despite being out in the current.

4 responses

  1. I like the picture but I’m bothered by not seeing more of the left side of the photo.

    August 5, 2013 at 2:40 am

    • Hmm. Perhaps I should darken the leftmost roots a bit. I’m noticing that they’re brighter than the stump and draw the eye.

      August 5, 2013 at 6:04 pm

      • Yes, I think that would help. I hope you don’t mind my critiques. I find it very helpful for myself.

        August 5, 2013 at 10:38 pm

      • No, I don’t mind at all. It’s refreshing to get some comments here. As you can see, I don’t get many.

        August 7, 2013 at 4:39 pm

Leave a Reply

