Mt. Si

20130527-IMG_7198

Mt. Si (pronounced “sigh”) is less than an hour from Seattle, and the trail up it is one of the most popular in the state. As you can see, it rises abruptly from the Puget Sound lowlands, part of an impressive wall that I assume was shaped during the last ice age by the great lobe that pushed south from Canada. I had spent the day puttering around in the woods and clearcuts along the base of this wall, and I was driving home when I passed this scene. I couldn’t pass it up, so I squeezed my tripod onto the narrow shoulder of a fairly busy two-lane highway. The clouds were moving fast, and I think this is the best of several exposures as they swirled around the peak. The trees look a bit like an orchard, but a lot of them were holly. Perhaps they supply wreaths at Christmas time?

One response

  1. Pingback: An Experiment | Franz Amador's Photoblog

Leave a comment